Working together to remain in our own homes as we age.


The Athens Village is

Not a place, but a concept
serving people age 60+
living securely
in their own homes.  

You can be:

In charge
In contact
You can be home

In short, The Athens Village is a group of neighbors working together to help each of us age gracefully in our own homes.

Our Mission:

Enable members to live independently, comfortably and safely in their homes.

Our Vision:

A dynamic, responsive community of members who support meaningful and fulfilling lives for one another.

Research, including that of insurance companies, has shown that people are much better off in their own homes than in assisted living facilities. The Athens Village works with the Appalachian Community Visiting Nurse Association (ACVNA) and other groups furthering the interests of its members.

Today is

Upcoming Events

Note: unless otherwise noted, all meetings are at 94 Columbus Rd.
  • Every Tuesday, 10:30 a.m., Chair Yoga, OSU Extension Office.
  • Every Tuesday, 12:30 p.m., Informal lunch gathering of members & guests at Bob Evans.
  • Oct. 7, Wednesday, 11:00 a.m.,Public Information Team.
  • Oct. 8, Thursday, 10:00 a.m., Membership Team.
  • Oct. 9, Friday, 10:30 a.m., Dementia-Friendly Athens focus group, initial meeting
  • Oct. 12, Monday, 2:00 p.m., Hearing Aid Interest Group.
  • Oct. 13, Tuesday, 10:00 a.m., TAV Board.
  • Oct. 16, Friday, 6:00 p.m., Culinary Conversations at Sol Restaurant. Reservations through the office, 740-447-0500
  • Oct. 21, Wednesday, 1:30 p.m., Caregivers Support Group.
  • Oct. 21, Wednesday, 3:00 p.m., Health and Wellness Committee.
  • Oct. 24, Saturday, from 5:00 p.m., Annual Meeting of The Athens Village membership, Richland Ave. Methodist Church basement
  • Oct. 28, Wednesday, 1:00 p.m., Get More Out of Your Membership, open to the public.
  • Oct. 29, Thursday, Noon, Brown Bag Luncheon, David McNulty, speaker on F.A.N.s, a new Athens group supporting disabilities.